70 20mm (1/72) Early Imperial (1st – 2nd Century BC) Roman Infantry

This year is my first foray into The Analogue Painting Challenge. It’s honestly been quite some time since I’ve done any painting, so I figured this would be a great way into getting me back into the more creative side of the hobby.

I bring you my first painted miniatures in a few years. Daunted by the thought of diving headfirst into my pile of unpainted 15mm Napoleonics I decided to polish off some 1/72 Italeri Early Imperial Roman Infantry that I’ve had laying around in boxes for about a decade.

One of two boxes that I’ve had languishing on a shelf for a decade.

I started off mounting them on craft sticks and priming the lot in black before working on a simple paint job that won’t win me any contests, but I figure they’ll look just fine on the table.

Simple blocking of colors because I intend to use a wash.
I forgot how meditative this whole process can be.

I actually primed the lot on New Year’s Eve, and started painting around 0900 on New Year’s Day as part of my resolution to do more wargaming this year. I had intended to just do a little each day until finishing the lot next weekend, but next thing I knew it was early evening and I was nearly done with the blocked colors, with some smaller details picked out.

After dinner, I decided to push on and complete all the painting minus the wash I would put on the following morning. Below are the miniatures with the wash on. I finished around 2300. Now that’s a good day of painting.

I had no intention of finishing painting in a day and a half, but here we are.

After simple basing (for Warhammer Ancients Battles), flocking, and sealing with a matte sealer I present to you my 70 Early Imperial Roman Infantry.

Two sets of command elements (8 foot, 2 mounted).
Half of the infantry (30 figures) ready to advance with pila at the ready.
The other half (30 figures) holding shields aloft in a testudo formation.
Close up of my two mounted officers (please provide suggestions for names)
Close up of one of the command elements
A better view of the individual infantrymen

So, there it is. My first entry to the challenge is done, and it was far easier than expected to get back into that meditative painting state. 

Well, now that I’ve gotten over my initial trepidations of returning to painting, it’s time to dive headlong into this challenge. I think I’ll work on a regiment of 15mm Grand Duchy of Warsaw infantry next, and may if I decide to go hog wild work on my 15mm Alamo (it’s huge).

Leave a comment