JohnnyCon 3 Day 1 & Intro

So, I’m here at JohnnyCon3 and I thought I’d do some photoblogging and so on to give a little flavor of this great little con. For those of you who are unaware JohnnyCon3 is a small biannual dedicated to Johnny Reb (all versions and variants welcome), and sometimes ASL (because as you may or may not know John Hill wrote both games). There will be a few talks going on throughout the weekend, including one by the man himself, John Hill. There are a couple vendors here: Battlefield Terrain Concepts and Scale Creep Miniatures. So, this year it’s in Indianapolis and the con lasts three days. Today is day one. According to the PEL we have three games going: Dean West’s 7YW Frieberg Game (using a JR3 variant, The Final Argument of Kings, 2nd ed.), Pat LeBeau’s WWII ASL game, Bryon Bradshaw’s Mill Springs ACW game, some game being put on by Mark Severin (of Scale Creep fame), and Dan Marshall’s Double Blind Antietam game. I will be adding photos as the day goes on, so away we go!

Ok, so the day is done, and it’s been a fun day. I played in a second running of Pat LeBeau’s ASL game, Cossacks against Germans (some of you may know the scenario [I don’t as this was my first time playing ASL], it’s the one where the Panzer Grendadiers show up on turn 4), and I was playing the German commander. It was extremely hard fought and despite my stopping the majority of the Cossack wave attack on my HQ within 3 turns, some got through and entered my HQ building. Unfortunately my AFV was toasted the moment it showed itself (something that happened the first game as well), and couldn’t put in any kind of showing. By the end of turn three I had an officer captured by the Cossacks and I needed to recapture or kill him before the end of turn 4. The tide was against me. Luckily, the Panzer Grenadiers arrived in half-tracks, and I was able to unload and retake my officer, and captured the Cossack leader while I was at it. At this point most of the remaining Cossacks bugged out and the day was a German victory!

Hopefully, I’ll play in a game or two tomorrow. We shall see.

Also, in response to messages from TMP:

Grunt1861, no insights as yet about John Hill’s new game. I think he may be presenting it tomorrow (or later today). I’ll see what I can find out.

rct75001, Dean’s game used a large mix of buildings. Most were Architectural Heritage (now JR miniatures), some were old Musket Miniatures (which are no longer available). Battlefield Terrain Concepts carries the JR line, you should give them a shout.

5 Responses to “JohnnyCon 3 Day 1 & Intro”

  1. Outstanding!!! Sure wish I could have been there, but the date conflicted with several family events this weekend, including the Reds-Nationals game, followed by a business trip.

  2. Forest:

    Thanks for the photos. My game is a play test scenario of “Bitter Angels” my ACW variant of “Grande Armee.” The forces involved are fairly “generic.” But in essence the Rebs outnumber the boys in Blue slightly and must force them off the hill.

    Ran one game tonight and got lots of great comments and feedback. I hope to run at least one more before the show is over.

  3. Dean West Says:

    Hi Forest,
    It was nice to meet you at JCIII and thanks for all the documentation. Nice photos.

    I commented on the SL battle on TMP. I thought we Cossacks had it won, but had to run instead.

    Best Regards,

    Dean

  4. Doug Rogers Says:

    One of these times, I am going to make a JohnnyCon. The PICs are fantastic!

  5. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was looking for this particular information for
    a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a comment